Accordo Commerciale Agreement

The European Commission believes that the Tribunal should replace bilateral investment systems that deal with EU trade and investment agreements. Since the proposed agreement was made public, ACTA has been the subject of numerous protests. In February 2010, Italy saw the largest mobilization for several initiatives of the digital border network, which sent a public letter to Italian parliamentarians rejecting ACTA. [11] There have been numerous protests to prevent the admission of ACTA. Many petitions have started on the Internet. Once the text of the agreement has been agreed with the partners, the Commission submits formal proposals to the Council for its adoption. The generic term trade agreements (or trade agreements) refers to a wide range of international tariff, tax or trade treaties that can take place between two states (in this case „bilateral agreements“) or more („multilateral agreements“). Such agreements often include state-provided guarantees for foreign investment. In the final phase, after obtaining the approval of the European Parliament, the Council adopts the decision on the conclusion of the agreement. The agreement has been widely criticised for being the subject of confidential negotiations between states and being seen as a violation of the fundamental rights and freedoms of European and non-European citizens, triggering a broad international mobilization led by La Quadrature du Net.

Human rights, environment and social rights. Negotiations between states, the numerous draft documents and the founding elements of the agreement have always remained secret to the public, with the exception of occasional indiscretions that could raise repeated concerns and concerns[5] about the considerable impact on the agreement on the dynamics of the use of protected content. ACTA was signed in Tokyo on 26 January 2012 between 22 of the 28 MEMBER states of the European Union, including Italy (they did not sign Cyprus, the Republic of Estonia, the Slovak Republic, Germany and the Netherlands) and the states that have already adopted ACTA in October 2011: Australia, Canada, Japan, Republic of Korea, United States of Mexico, United Kingdom, Morocco, New Zealand, Republic of Singapore , the Swiss Confederation and the United States of America. The European Parliament was invited to ratify the agreement on 11 June 2012. The ratification was rejected on 4 July 2012 by a vote of the European Parliament which ended with 478 votes against, 39 votes in in and 165 abstentions. [2] At the end of these deliberations, the Council adopts a decision on the signing of the agreement on behalf of the EU and sends the signed agreement to the European Parliament for approval. Mutual assistance and customs cooperation agreements signed with third countries.

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.